Featured Post

Books by Julie L Spencer

                       

Join Julie Spencer's Rock Stars VIP Readers Club

Monday, September 11, 2017

Buxton Peak The Early Years Party Favors

Thank you to the following authors who have generously offered to donate books as party favors for my Online Book Launch Party of Buxton Peak: The Early Years

Click here to join the Facebook Event: Online Book Launch Party of Buxton Peak: The Early Years


Amy Schisler
Digital copy of one of her books

Rachel John
Digital copy of one of her books or signed paperback of Bethany’s Reality

Donna K. Weaver
Digital or signed paperback (winner’s choice) of A Change of Plans, Safe Harbors #1 (also available in audiobook)

Judy Corry
Signed paperback copy of Protect My Heart

Elizabeth Proske
Signed paperback copy of Like a Flood, Book One in The Mission Field series

Jewel Punzalan Allen
Digital copy of Saffron Summer

Shannon Symonds
Signed copy of Safe House

Victorine Lieske
Free ebook to everyone who comes to our party

Michelle Pennington
Digital copy of Before It's Love

Lisa Rector
Digital copy of Switching Lives

Liwen Ho
Digital copy of On Waves of Wanderlust

EJ McCay
Digital or paperback copy of one of her books

Amy Linnabary Meyer
Digital copy of Cinderheart or Forgetting the Billionaire
  


How to Earn Points Toward Party Favors at the Buxton Peak: The Early Years Launch Party!

The great news is that every one of you will be going home with a Party Favor!

Here are some of the ways you can earn points:
  • Share ANYTHING from this party on your Facebook page (one of my posts, one of the Spotlight Author posts, a link to one of our books, a blog post, a Review, etc.)
  • Tweet or Re-tweet anything from this party or anything that one of us Tweeted (one of my posts, one of the Spotlight Author posts, a link to one of our books, a blog post, a review, etc.)
  • Ask a question of one of our Spotlight Authors.
  • Go to Amazon and leave a review on one of my books (if you’ve already done this, it still counts as a point), either The Cove, Buxton Peak Book One: Who Is Ian Taylor? Buxton Peak Book Two: Center Stage, Buxton Peak Book Three: The End of the Beginning, or Buxton Peak: The Early Years.
  • Invite a friend to come to this party (one point per INVITED friend, even if they don’t come!)
  • Purchase any of my books, The Cove, Buxton Peak Book One: Who Is Ian Taylor? Buxton Peak Book Two: Center Stage, Buxton Peak Book Three: The End of the Beginning, or Buxton Peak: The Early Years (Give yourself an extra ten points for purchasing one of the books!)
  • Purchase any one or more of the Spotlight Author’s books (Give yourself an extra ten points for purchasing one of their books!)
  • Have fun and enjoy getting to know one another (Give yourself at least one point for every time you smile or laugh while here at the party!)


Reminder: Tally up your points and let me know how many you got!

Points are awarded on an honor system because I just won’t have time to keep track. Sometime between now and whenever you go to bed tonight, send me a Private Message with the number of points you’ve accumulated and your top 3-5 book choices.

You will get to choose which of those books you’d like to take home. The person with the most points will get to choose first, second most points gets to choose second, on down the line. Even if you get zero points, you will still get a Party Favor to take home, just for being here.

Within the next few days I’ll let you know which Party Favor you have won. We will then connect you with the author so you can give them your contact information.

Thank you again, so much for coming to my online book launch party! It means the world to me that you are sharing this exciting night with me! –Julie L. Spencer


Meet the Author Judy Corry

Thank you to author, Judy Corry for donating a signed copy of Protect My Heart as a Party Favor for the Buxton Peak: The Early Years launch party on September 12th, 2017 from 8:00 to Midnight.

See list of books after Judy’s contact information





Connect with Judy Corry:

Sign up for Judy’s VIP Reader’s Club at www.subscribepage.com/judycorry for a behind-the-scenes look at her books, great deals and exclusive extra’s!

Author website: www.JudyCorry.com
Twitter: @Judy_Corry
Author Facebook page: @authorjudycorry
Instagram: @judycorry


Books by Judy Corry:
Protect My Heart

Thank you to author, Judy Corry for donating a signed copy of Protect My Heart as a Party Favor for the Buxton Peak: The Early Years launch party on September 12th, 2017 from 8:00 to Midnight.

See list of books after Judy’s contact information

Connect with Judy Corry:

Sign up for Judy’s VIP Reader’s Club at www.subscribepage.com/judycorry for a behind-the-scenes look at her books, great deals and exclusive extra’s!

Author website: www.JudyCorry.com
Twitter: @Judy_Corry
Author Facebook page: @authorjudycorry
Instagram: @judycorry


Books by Judy Corry:
Protect My Heart

Click here to join the Facebook Event: Online Book Launch Party of Buxton Peak: The Early Years

Meet the Author Lisa Rector

Thank you to author, Lisa Rector for donating a digital copy of Switching Lives as a Party Favor for the Buxton Peak: The Early Years launch party on September 12th, 2017 from 8:00 to Midnight.

See list of books after Lisa’s contact information



Follow Lisa Rector on social media:

Twitter account: @lisarectoremrys
Amazon Author Page: Lisa-Rector
Goodreads Profile: Lisa_Rector
Google+ Profile: Lisa Rector
Facebook Author Page: AuthorLisaRector

Books by Lisa Rector:

The Emrys Chronicles:
Fallen Emrys: Niawen’s Story, book 0
Half-Emrys: Master of Lies, book 1
Half-Emrys: The Two Masters, book 2
Half-Emrys: Master of Time, book 3
The Emrys Chronicles Boxed Set

Meet the Author Michelle Pennington

Thank you to author, Michelle Pennington for donating a digital copy of Before It’s Love as a Party Favor for the Buxton Peak: The Early Years launch party on September 12th, 2017 from 8:00 to Midnight.

See list of books after Michelle’s contact information



Follow Michelle Pennington on social media:

Twitter: @MLLPennington

Books by Michelle Pennington:
The Trouble with Billionaires (Coming soon!)
Before It’s Love
Five Magic Spindles (A Collection of Sleeping Beauty Stories)
Aglow
True Images Series:
Candid
Focused

Sing to Me

Meet the Author Amy Linnabary

Thank you to author, Amy Linnabary for donating a digital copy of Cinderheart of Forgetting the Billionaire as a Party Favor for the Buxton Peak: The Early Years launch party on September 12th, 2017 from 8:00 to Midnight.

See list of books after Amy’s contact information

Follow Amy Linnabary on social media:

Amazon Author page: www.amazon.com/Amy-Linnabary
Facebook Author page: @authoramylinnabary
Twitter: @Amy_Linnabary 

Books by Amy Linnabary:
Forgiving the Billionaire (Coming Soon!)
Forgetting the Billionaire
Fairest One
Cinder Heart
The Adventure Brothers: Save the Bats
The Adventure Brothers: Free the Dolphin

Meet the Author Shannon Symonds

Thank you to author, Shannon Symonds for donating a signed copy of Safe House as a Party Favor for the Buxton Peak: The Early Years launch party on September 12th, 2017 from 8:00 to Midnight.

See list of books after Shannon’s contact information



Follow Shannon Symonds on social media:
Facebook Author page:  www.facebook.com/shannonsymondsauthor
Amazon Author page: www.amazon.com/Shannon-Symonds
Twitter profile: @shannonsymonds7

Books by Shannon Symonds:


Safe House

Meet the Author Jewel Allen

Thank you to author, Jewel Allen for donating a digital copy of Saffron Summer as a Party Favor for the Buxton Peak: The Early Years launch party on September 12th, 2017 from 8:00 to Midnight.

See list of books after Jewel’s contact information


Follow Jewel Allen on social media:
Facebook Author page: JewelAllenwrites
Amazon Author page: Jewel Allen
Twitter profile: @jewelallen87

Books by Jewel Allen:

Love Around the World Series:
A Day in Paris
Saffron Summer

Islands of the Crown Series:
The Spanish Exile
The Last Princess

Soapbox
Ghost Moon Night


Meet the Author Rachel John

Thank you to author, Rachel John for donating a digital copy of one of your books as a Party Favor for the Buxton Peak: The Early Years launch party on September 12th, 2017 from 8:00 to Midnight.

See list of books after Rachel’s contact information




Connect with Rachel John:

Author website: www.racheljohnwrites.com
Amazon author page: Rachel John
Twitter: @RJohnAuthor
Author Facebook page: RachelJohnAuthor

Books by Rachel John:
Matchmaker for Hire
Bethany’s New Reality
The Truth About Running
A Zombie Love Story
Princess Silly’s Bedtime Stories



Meet the Author Elizabeth Proske

Thank you to author, Elizabeth Proske for donating a signed paperback copy of Like a Flood, Book One in The Mission Field series as a Party Favor for the Buxton Peak: The Early Years launch party on September 12th, 2017 from 8:00 to Midnight.

See list of books after Elizabeth’s contact information


Connect with Elizabeth Proske:

Author website: www.elizabethproske.com
Author’s Den profile: www.authorsden.com/elizabethproske

Books by Elizabeth Proske:
Like a Flood, Book One in The Mission Field series
Way of Escape, Part One, Daniel’s Odyssey

Meet the Author Donna K. Weaver

Thank you to author, Donna K. Weaver for donating a copy of A Change of Plans, Safe Harbors Book #1 as a Party Favor for the Buxton Peak: The Early Years launch party on September 12th, 2017 from 8:00 to Midnight.

See list of books after Donna’s contact information



Connect with Donna K. Weaver:

Get a free digital copy of Hope's Watch when you sign up for Donna’s newsletter.

Author website: www.donnakweaver.com
Amazon author page: Donna K. Weaver
Author Facebook page: Donna-K-Weaver
Pinterest: DonnaKWeaver
YouTube Channel: Donna K. Weaver
Google+ profile: Donna K. Weaver


Books by Donna K. Weaver:
Second Chances 101
A Change of Plans
A Season of Change
Hope’s Watch
Teapots & Treachery
Torn Canvas
A Savage Ghost
Castle Collection

Meet the Author Liwen Ho


Thank you to author, Liwen Ho for donating a digital copy of On Waves of Wanderlust as a Party Favor for the Buxton Peak: The Early Years launch party on September 12th, 2017 from 8:00 to Midnight.

See list of books after Liwen’s contact information



Connect with Liwen Ho:

Twitter account: @2square2behip

Website and/or Blog: http://www.2square2behip.com/

Amazon Author Page: www.amazon.com/author/liwenho







Other Books by Liwen Ho:

Taking Chances Series:
Straight To You


True To You


Drawn To You


Seasons of Love Series:
The More The Merrier


A Spoonful Of Spice


Of Buds And Blossoms


Puppy Dog Tales


Tropical Kiss or Miss


Meet the Author EJ McCay


Thank you to author, EJ McCay for donating a digital or paperback copy of one of your books as a Party Favor for the Buxton Peak: The Early Years launch party on September 12th, 2017 from 8:00 to Midnight.

See list of books after EJ’s contact information


Connect with EJ:
Facebook Author Profile: www.facebook.com/EJMcCay
Website: www.elizabethmccay.com
Twitter: @EJMcCay

Books by EJ McCay
Broken Like Glass
Called Warrior
Charitable Hearts

Meet the Author Amy Schisler


Thank you to author, Amy Schisler for donating a digital copy of each of your books as a Party Favor for the Buxton Peak: The Early Years launch party on September 12th, 2017 from 8:00 to Midnight.

See list of books after Amy’s contact information

Connect with Amy Schisler:


Island of Miracles
Whispering Vines
A Place to Call Home
Stations of the Cross
Picture Me
Grabbing with Granddad

Meet the Author Victorine Lieske

Thank you to author, Victorine Lieske for donating a free ebook to everyone who comes to our party as a Party Favor for the Buxton Peak: The Early Years launch party on September 12th, 2017 from 8:00 to Midnight.

See list of books after Victorine’s contact information



Follow Victorine Lieske on social media:
Facebook Author page: www.facebook.com/victorinelieske
Twitter profile: @VictorineLieske
Website: www.victorinelieske.com
Amazon Author page is Victorine E. Lieske

Books by Victorine Lieske:

Falling for the Beast
Acting Married
Isabella and the Slipper
Reluctantly Married
Blissfully Married
Accidentally Married
Mistakenly Married
Not What She Seems
The Overtaking
The Gathering
How to Find Success Selling eBooks

Click here to join the Facebook Event: Online Book Launch Party of Buxton Peak: The Early Years

Saturday, September 2, 2017

Interview with the Author Kandi J Wyatt

After reviewing The One Who Sees Me, I had the opportunity to interview Kandi J Wyatt and ask her a few questions about her writing.


How long have you been writing?

Officially, I started writing short stories or snippets of stories when I was in high school. I remember attending my very first writer’s conference during my junior year. In college, I wrote a mystery that revolved around my closest friends and the mall where I worked. However, by the time I got married and started to have kids, I pursued other hobbies. In the early spring of 2006, I began writing again.

Have you always wanted to be a writer?

Not really. I’ve been a teacher at heart, and maybe that’s why my stories tend to teach without preaching.

How do you come up with your ideas for stories?

The voices usually talk to me. Yes, that’s true. The characters themselves tend to start screaming at me. I have one right now that wants his story told, but I’m not sure how that’s going to turn out. If it’s not voices, it’s images, or sometimes it comes from my Bible study. The One Who Sees Me came from my own study but also our Sunday School class.

Do you have/Have you had any other careers besides writing?

My day job is a teacher. I teach sixth through twelfth grade students for Spanish, Leadership, and Language Arts. My unpaid side job is photographer’s assistant for my husband’s portrait photography business that he’s just beginning to run. Besides all that, I’m mom to five children.

Let’s talk more about The One Who Sees Me. Give us a Synopsis for the book:

Teenage slave girl Faru’s life has been turned upside down when she discovers she’s been traded to a new master, forcing her to leave all she‘s ever known. Upon her arrival, Faru meets a friend, Cailean, who helps her adjust to life in the strange location. Life settles into a new pattern, and romance blossoms between the young friends. But as soon as they plan to get married, another proposal comes about – one that cannot be ignored. Being a slave means not always marrying who you love.

On a daring journey to heal her heart, Faru encounters the Existing One. Will she trust Him and do His bidding even if what He requests is so hard?

Follow Faru’s tale in author Kandi J Wyatt’s retelling of a Biblical story found in the Old Testament book of Genesis, showing that when things don’t make sense, God will guide the way.

What was the inspiration behind this story?

Twenty years ago I went through a very rough time. Suppressed memories of childhood sexual abuse came alive as I dealt with my own children’s abuse. In the process, a friend recommended Kay Arthur’s book Lord, I Want to Know You. She goes through the various names for God. The name that struck home was The One Who Sees Me. As I dug deeper, I decided to tell the story of the girl who met God by that name.

Tell us about your main characters:

Faru tells her own story of life in the household of Lord Cegrol. She experiences love, hatred, blessings, and friendships and even a child. She’s a normal girl who wants to be left alone to do her job, but when she is befriended by the mistress of the household, she can’t imagine life any better.

Cailean watches out for Faru. He was a surprise character for me and soon became one of my favorites.

Lord Cegrol has a lot on his plate—from taking care of the household, to defending his nephew from marauders. Adding his wife’s nagging causes stress to mount and poor Faru finds herself in the middle of the whole mess.

From close friend and confidant to despised enemy Lady Cwen has her ups and downs. As a step-mom though I think I can relate to some of her feelings.

Which is your favorite minor character and why?

Cailean’s fun loving attitude and his love for Faru make him my favorite.

Please share a few favorite lines or one paragraph:

“Faru smiled remembering the peace and the light. “He lit up the darkness. His voice was like a small brook, and He gave peace. He told me about . . . ” she paused and looked down, the heat running to her cheeks.”

“Early the next morning, Lady Cwen arrived home, escorted by four stiff-looking guards. Faru imagined they were appropriately impressed by someone who would have the audacity to defy the king and then get away with it.”

“It seemed as if in this household anything was possible. She had gone from rejected servant, to having a friend, to servant of the lady of the house, to confidant, to lady?”

“As the words of the tapestry floated through her head, she wondered if there truly was an Existing One who actually cared about people. She could envision One who made the world and cared for lords and ladies, but she doubted He would care about servants.”

Of all the books out there, why should readers choose this one?

Not many books delve into the story of Abraham and Sarah from this point of view. Even if you know the story, having it thrown into the medieval times with different names and places brings it to light in a different way. It’s like looking at a jewel. Every time you turn it around you see different angles.

Let’s shift gears and talk more about your writing. Have you ever named a character in honor of someone you know?

I have several variations of Marilyn in the Dragon Courage series. The real Marilyn’s a person who loves to give hugs and has opened her home to numerous people over the years. I have a fantasy trilogy that I’m working on that the characters are inspired by people I know. My Christian Historical Fiction names come from names that would be relevant at the time period of the story or that are within a specific cultural context.

At what moment did you feel like you could say, “NOW, I'm an author?”

That would have had to been in early 2016 after I had three books published. It was a slow process to accept the fact that I was more than a writer. I think it took realizing I had a steady blog, multiple social media outlets, and multiple books published along with the thought process that I was planning to continue writing books for publication.

What is one of your favorite/go-to writing resources?

I use the online thesaurus repeatedly but mostly during the editing and proofreading stages when I realize I’ve used a word umpteen times in one paragraph.

What other project are you working on now?

I have multiple projects in the works right now. In September Journey from Skioria will be published. It’s a Lord of the Rings meets Narnia tale of a nine-year-old girl who is shipwrecked far from human civilization and needs to find her way back home. I have the story all the way finished and am eagerly waiting on my cover artist who’s drawing and coloring each of the characters right now. I’m writing a Christian steampunk story that’s a retelling of a Bible story. I’m hoping to have it ready in January or February. Then there’s the fantasy trilogy—Mythical Creatures of Myrtle Beach. The first book, Myrtle Beach Adventure, is finished, but I need to work on the other two books. This is a modern rural America meets fantasy series. In book one, four junior high students find what they believe to be a thunderegg. When their science teacher helps them realize it’s not that, they vow to protect what they’ve found, but soon realize they’ll have to protect their community from what they’ve found! I also have an Ancient Egypt trilogy I’m working on. I had planned to just have it as a stand-alone, but the characters would not be quiet. So, it’ll be the telling of the story of the plagues of Exodus from the viewpoint of an Egyptian family. The second and third books will follow the family as they journey with the Israelites through the desert.

What book are you currently reading?

I just finished reading The Tethered World, and I’d recommend it to everyone. The characters grabbed my attention like the ones in Cornelia Funke’s The Dragon Rider. The Tethered World is a Christian Fantasy story about a homeschooled family whose parents are kidnapped. When they discover Yetis may have something to do with the kidnapping and the way to rescue them involves a dragon ride, I knew it was going to hold my attention the whole way.

Do you write/read every single day?

I wish! I try to do author work for at least a half hour each morning, but that may not be writing. I had two months here when I didn’t read at all because I was too busy editing and proofreading.  

Kandi J Wyatt, thank you for joining us today and for sharing your stories and your writing experience! -Julie L. Spencer

Author Bio:

Even as a young girl, Kandi J Wyatt, had a knack for words. She loved to read them, even if it was on a shampoo bottle! By high school Kandi had learned to put words together on paper to create stories for those she loved. Nowadays, she writes for her kids, whether that's her own five or the hundreds of students she's been lucky to teach. When Kandi's not spinning words to create stories, she's using them to teach students about Spanish, life, and leadership.

Follow Kandi J Wyatt on social media:


Website and/or Blog: http://kandijwyatt.com




Facebook Author Page: http://facebook.com/kandijwyatt





Other Social Media accounts: http://cleanindiereads.com/dragon-courage/

Here are the books Kandi has published and available on Amazon:

Dragon Courage Series:

Christian Historical Fiction: